Headaches All Around! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2013, 01:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Question Headaches All Around!

Hello everyone!

So in my never-ending quest to put Windows XP on my laptop, I believe I have (finally) found the drivers I need to make it work. I'm not 100% certain that these are what I need, but researching the chipset of my laptop brought back those in a forum claiming it allowed an XP install on a machine with the same chipset. So I would say it's what I need. Now I am having trouble creating a usable boot disk. I used nLite to slipstream the drivers but I am not sure I added the right ones (or amount of) because when Windows Setup was about to finalize to start an install, the .sys files that were added came up "Corrupted" and Setup demanded a reboot. So, I am officially out of ideas. I slipstreamed SP3 into the pack; not sure if that may have caused problems or not. I will link the drivers I found and info regarding my laptop if it helps.

I apologize for asking for more advice on this ongoing headache; and I would not post this under a normal condition but my only other option (that I can see) is try every single tweak or idea through nLite and run them all in a VM until one of them successfully boots. Given the astounding number of variables, that would take an absurd amount of time. Does anyone have any suggestions or comments on what I may be doing wrong? Thanks in advance everybody!

Drivers "Needed" (AMD Sata AHCI Controller Driver): https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=10d0e...E125BE32C7!278

Laptop Model: Compaq Presario CQ56-115DX
__________________

__________________
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 01:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,151
Default Re: Headaches All Around!

not sure if this applies to laptops or not, but when M$ came out with SP3, there was a huge issue with oem computers that had AMD processors. Has something to do with M$ installing an Intel driver because the OEM's used Intel images for their AMD computers, one blamed the other the end result was a no-boot pc.

This may or may not be an issue for you but I thought that I would put it out here anyway
Microsoft Windows XP SP3 Upgrade Utility for systems with AMD processors. | HP® Support
__________________

__________________
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 01:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

The only driver you should need to I stall is the driver for the SATA controller. The rest you can install within Windows after you get it installed to verify they work and are correct.

Doing so via VM will get you no where as a VM doesn't use your hardware but a virtual set of components that borrow resources from your machine.

So get SP3 slipstreamed and get the SATA controls slipstreamed. Worry about adding more later after you know you at least can boot and get it installed. No need to add extra stuff when you don't even know if the barebones install will work.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using Tech & Computer Forums Mobile App
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 02:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,314
Default Re: Headaches All Around!

Quote:
Originally Posted by KSoD View Post
The only driver you should need to I stall is the driver for the SATA controller. The rest you can install within Windows after you get it installed to verify they work and are correct.

Doing so via VM will get you no where as a VM doesn't use your hardware but a virtual set of components that borrow resources from your machine.

So get SP3 slipstreamed and get the SATA controls slipstreamed. Worry about adding more later after you know you at least can boot and get it installed. No need to add extra stuff when you don't even know if the barebones install will work.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using Tech & Computer Forums Mobile App
+1.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.