HDD Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2005, 03:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default HDD Problem

I have set up a 2hdd master/slave system on a MSi 6163 Pro (slot 1) and in the bios both hdd's detect but in windows 98 only the one with windows installed upon shows up which is also smaller than the other one without windows installed upon. I have tried all the different access modes in bios but no change.
Thanks in advance
Wayne
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 04:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to MST3kGeek
Default

my guess would be it isnt partitioned.
__________________

__________________
\"Shhhh, he\'s talking about his area\"
MST3kGeek is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 04:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

do i use fdisk for that?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 04:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to MST3kGeek
Default

yes sir
__________________
\"Shhhh, he\'s talking about his area\"
MST3kGeek is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 05:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

ive worked out that the non detected hdd has 2 linux partitions (one swap, and one ext 2) can fdisk still handle that hdd, and if so, how can i make one large fat32 partition with fdisk?

Thanks
Wayne
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 02:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

dont worry, i worked it out, however i almost deleted windows, but thankfully i double checked what hdd i was about to delete. The other hdd now detects in windows.
Thanks
Wayne
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 05:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to MST3kGeek
Default

yeah, i ended up going to bed. congrats on getting it all working.

and good job on catching yourself before you deleted the wrong one !
__________________

__________________
\"Shhhh, he\'s talking about his area\"
MST3kGeek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.