Hdd mirroring software? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2004, 05:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 332
Send a message via ICQ to gizmo90
Exclamation Hdd mirroring software?

My dad has a computer with Win 98 on it. It has $12,000 worth of software that cant be installed on another computer. the HDD is about shot, and i need a downloadable program that will create a perfect image on a secondary HDD....it would be kool if the program was free. By the way, iff u guys hav a betr idea than mirroring a HDD, please tell me. would a RAID controller werk?
Thanx in advance
__________________

__________________
Want a Gmail invitation?? Email me at gizmo90@gmail.com

Funny or Stupid Videos...u choose!
gizmo90 is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 09:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 332
Send a message via ICQ to gizmo90
Default

Hello????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!why doesn't anybody answer???
__________________

__________________
Want a Gmail invitation?? Email me at gizmo90@gmail.com

Funny or Stupid Videos...u choose!
gizmo90 is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 09:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I don't know any free imaging software, and I don't trust them

I use DriveImage or V2i for making a perfect image of my HD.

another program:
You can use Second Copy2000 to automattically copy (chaged/added/delted) files to another location everytime(you can select a time or at startup). It detects automatically if some files have been changed/added/deleted and will copy them. (not freeware)
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 03:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

Symantec Ghost is usually bundled free with new motherboards.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 04:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default

I used HD Clone for one cloning process. The personal edition is free, but only works if you are moving to a larger hard disk (which seems likely). Also, Seagate drives come with a nice set of tools that will copy your C partition from your old drive to a new drive (as long as one of them is a Seagate drive). I am not sure about the other parititions if you have any. It may only do the C drive, but that's typically the key since the registry is where the software keys are usually hidden. The other partitions you can pretty much mount and copy manually. (Is xxcopy still around?)
__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.