HDD to HDD transfer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2005, 02:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default HDD to HDD transfer

I am building a new computer to take advantage of 64 bit processors and will use XPPro

I have a mass of programs and data on my existing HDD's and would like to transfer these wholesale to new HDD's on the new setup.

Somewhere in the back of my mind there is, I believe, a bit of software that will do this, but I can't remember what it is called.

Can anyone help please? And is it foolproof?
__________________

D.Arbib is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 03:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Use total commander
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 04:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

you can do this alot of ways...
1. use norton ghost
2. set ur drive up as slave and copy to the new one
3. burn what u want and then rip it to ur new hdd

(i also recomend not copying all of ur programs... could get messy) but anyhow do what u like
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 05:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

a simple copy and paste for your data. and file and settings tranfer wizard. make sure you already install your programs (and XP) on your new pc before using the wizard

don't do a direct hard drive copy as you will get a lot of conflicts.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 08:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default

Thank you, but I know that there is a bit of software that will permit transfer of everything (provided, of course, to recipient HDD has been formatted) including the OS. I just can't find it, but have seen it in operation elsewhere.
D.Arbib is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 08:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I can name about 20 such products, but like Blitze105 and I explained,
if you take that finish hard drive and put it on a new mobo, it has a 25% chance of working and you will always problems (two many different drivers issues). it is easier to put a new install of xp
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 08:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

use ghost to clone the drive
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 09:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default

Can Ghost clone via a USB link from one computer to another and is the warning about driver conflicts above an issue?
__________________

D.Arbib is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.