Having to Unlug and Replug Keyboard in Everytime Computer Boots - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2006, 05:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 58
Default Having to Unlug and Replug Keyboard in Everytime Computer Boots

For some reason everytime I start my computer I have to unplug and then replug my keyboard from my computers usb port to get it to work. I also get an error saying that there was an error with the hidserv.exe. I did a search on google about the hidserve.exe and it was posted that this program/file handles all control unit through the usb ports such as the mouse and keyboard. anybody know whats going on here?
__________________

rakoom2002 is offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 06:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

I have seen so many problems related to USB keyboards..especially on older machines. The BIOS doesnt know there is a keyboard plugged in so it will toss an error code and your keyboard wont work until the OS fully loads and brings up the drivers..not the case on newer PC's but older. I always reccomend sticking to a PS/2 port or get a USB to PS/2 adapter.

Are new Dells are not coming with ANY PS/2 ports and its all USB, but that being said the BIOS supports the USB keyboard on pre-boot with no problems. Can you get into your BIOS with the keyboard?
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 12:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

Looks like the program isn't shutting down properly, and so when you boot into the OS, you're confronted with the error message.

Perhaps there's a keyboard driver related problem.

Boot into the operating system, and with your USB keyboard plugged in so that it is working, go to Control Panel > Keyboard > Hardware Tab...What's listed in the devices box, and what does the device properties say?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.