Having Problems with Windows 2000 Pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2007, 10:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 30
Default Having Problems with Windows 2000 Pro

Hello all I am having problems with Windows 2000 pro. I bought a new hard drive for my computer that has 250gb of Storage. When i installed Windows it only recoginzes 137gigs of space. How can i fix this so that i can take advantage of my entire hard drive. Thanks in advance.
__________________

Anubius is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 10:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Having Problems with Windows 2000 Pro

This sounds like a BIOS problem. Before, i think, 2003 roughly OS's were limited in the size of the hard drive they could see. This was due to the Fat32 file system. Is that what you are using? If so then you will have to partition the drive to be able to see the full drive.

NTFS can see all sizes. Fat32 can not.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 10:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Having Problems with Windows 2000 Pro

I think that service pack 4 fixes the lba limit. if you mobo is the culprit update your bios
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 11:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 30
Default Re: Having Problems with Windows 2000 Pro

I formatted and used the NTFS format. on the Service pack 4 is that the same one you get from Windows Update or do they have to send you a copy on cd? And when i get Service pack 4 do i have to reformat or what can i do for it to recognize all gigs. thanks in advance.
Anubius is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 11:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Having Problems with Windows 2000 Pro

try this. I know that it work for xp. what's your hdd name?

Big drive enabler
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 11:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Having Problems with Windows 2000 Pro

After a quick M$ search that was implemented in SP2 for Windows 2000. SP4 should be available via WU. If not you can order the CS

http://www.microsoft.com/windows2000...4/default.mspx

You can also download it for Single install or Network isntall...

Windows 2000 Service Pack 4

It is on the right side of the page about 1/3 of the way down.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 11:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 30
Default Re: Having Problems with Windows 2000 Pro

I upgraded the motherboard and processor as well, along with power supply. Its a Gigabyte p4 Titan Series motherboard, got like a 2.0 ghz processor in it. with 512 of ram.Thanks in advance
Anubius is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 11:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 30
Default Re: Having Problems with Windows 2000 Pro

This my fathers computer by the way and i has downloaded SP 4 from the website and i doesnt seem to help. So basically my only option is to update bios correct? Thanks in advance
Anubius is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 11:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Having Problems with Windows 2000 Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricB View Post
try this. I know that it work for xp. what's your hdd name?

Big drive enabler
hello? I need an answer to this. there are other ways to do it.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 11:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Having Problems with Windows 2000 Pro

If the file Eric has supplied doesn't do the trick then the BIOS might be the last step. Unless Eric knows another way.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Customizing Windows 2000 SP4 Amd2800 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 10-11-2007 07:45 AM
upgrade from Windows 2000 to Vista Ultimate work? Wildside Microsoft Windows and Software 8 09-29-2007 11:16 PM
Windows 2000 Wireless Connection Problems waytoosmall Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 09-07-2007 06:55 PM
Windows 2000 Login Problems Jack10525 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 07-26-2007 04:09 AM
Outlook 2000 problems in Windows Server 2003 pcschris Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-24-2007 05:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.