havin problem.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2007, 05:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 57
Default havin problem..

hello guys
i recently installed windows 2000 advance server although i was usin windows xp pro sp2 after installation i can not start up my xp i get an error like windows/system/config like this.
urgent help.
__________________

MAAX Z is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 08:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: havin problem..

This makes no sense, you installed 2000 AS, you was running XP SP2, but you can start XP, so what exactly is going on here?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 11:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 57
Default Re: havin problem..

ya i installed windows 2000 advance server(d:/), actually i was using win xp pro sp2(c:/). i tried to dual boot. when i try to log on in xp it shows an error like this
/system/config (any prob)...( i am not able to start xp)
even i can not use safe mode to log in.
MAAX Z is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 11:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: havin problem..

the installation became corrupted
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 12:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 57
Default Re: havin problem..

ya ..
xp affected not 2000
MAAX Z is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 12:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: havin problem..

ok...fine dont take my advice
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 09:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: havin problem..

Okay you can NOT install 2000 from within XP. Since it is older XP will not allow it. So something else had to happen. From what i am gathering you must have tried to do it from a CD. If that is the case then peter is right. Your XP install became corrupt. Use the XP disc and do a repair.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 09:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 57
Default Re: havin problem..

i have never tried that before..
MAAX Z is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 03:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 57
Default Re: havin problem..

repair wizard worked but i want to remove windows 2000.
MAAX Z is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 04:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: havin problem..

You will have to format the partition from within XP to get rid of 2000. Now to get it off the boot menu go

Start>Run>msconfig>Boot tab. When that comes up check all known paths you should see the 2000 path is invalid and it removes it. If not manually go into the boot.ini and remove it from the boot menu.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 06:04 PM
Problem with my hardware responding to my computer. Carl133 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-23-2007 09:21 PM
Very strange computer problem fangs2000 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-20-2007 09:52 PM
HDD problem I think? lee2001notts Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-13-2007 01:10 PM
Hardware problem fufonzo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-09-2007 10:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.