Has this happened to any of you? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2006, 03:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to madmax670
Default Has this happened to any of you?

Whenever I try to install anything, my system gets midway through the install, then all of a sudden, my CPU usage is pegged at 100 percent and the installation hangs and does nothing. What's up, this is realy frustrating.
__________________

madmax670 is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 03:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

Do you know what process is maxing the cpu?
__________________

__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 03:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Maybe your hard disk. Do you get problems like this when copying/saving files?

Another cause yould be a problem with a specific installer type (eg. MSI Installer). Update it (MSI Installer 3.0) if the programs you are trying to install use MSI.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 04:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to madmax670
Default

msiexec.exe is the culprit maxing out the cpu
madmax670 is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 05:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

thats windows installer, either get the newest one or if u already have the newest uninstall and reinstall. I think the newest is 3.1.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 05:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to madmax670
Default

does anyone know where i can download it besides the microsoft website?
madmax670 is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 05:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default

Just Here: http://www.softwarepatch.com/windows/wininstallnt.html
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 07:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to madmax670
Default

thanks a lot
__________________

madmax670 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.