Hardrive not been recognized - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2006, 11:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via Yahoo to J_P_6_9
Default Hardrive not been recognized

HOpe someone can help me when I turn on my computer It wont boot then it has me go into a set up window. when there I go to hardware and under hard drive it shows only two options diable and none So it is not recognizing my hard drive. Can anyone help I already tried using my windows system and nothing.
__________________

J_P_6_9 is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 11:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Have you checked the cables ? When did this happen ? Did you change anything prior to this issue occuring ?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 11:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 70
Default

Right click on MY computer ... Manage .... Then go down to disk management and then see if it is in there. If it is format it that way and your done. That is if its a second hard drive
__________________
AMD 3400+
Abit KV8 PRO
1 gig ddr 3200
ATI ALL in Wonder 9700 128 meg
4 Sata\'s 420 gig, 320 gig , 200 gig , 160 gig
3 Maxtor One Touch 200, 160 , 120
NEC MultiSync 1765
alnilla is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 06:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via Yahoo to J_P_6_9
Default

I checked all the cables and it happened yesterday power went out and when i went to turn it back on it did not recognize the hard dirve. Windows does not load at all it takes me to a set up screen
J_P_6_9 is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 06:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Boot the computer using the XP CD. You may need to change the boot order in the system BIOS so the CD boots before the hard drive. Check your system documentation for steps to access the BIOS and change the boot order.
When you see the "Welcome To Setup" screen, you will see the options below
This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft
Windows XP to run on your computer:

To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.

To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R.

To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.

Press Enter to start the Windows Setup. do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R", (you Do Not want to load Recovery Console). I repeat, do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R".
Accept the License Agreement and Windows will search for existing Windows installations.
Select the XP installation you want to repair from the list and press R to start the repair. If Repair is not one of the options, read this Warning#2!
Setup will copy the necessary files to the hard drive and reboot. Do not press any key to boot from CD when the message appears. Setup will continue as if it were doing a clean install, but your applications and settings will remain intact.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.