Hard drives - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2003, 10:13 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 146
Default

Well installing the OS is sure cumbersome but you have to install it in both the drives.
The OS is already installed on the first drive remove it and make the second drive as primary master and install the whole OS again...dont connect the first drive then.
Then connect both the drives and at boot time you can selct any of the two HDDs and it will boot.

If this doesn't work then keep both the hard drives connected and start setup again and choose repair...then select the windows installation...it must show you two of them select the first one and type the command FIXMBR or FIXBOOT and follow the instructions.
__________________

__________________
\"To Err is human, to really foul things up requires a computer\"
Zagadka is offline  
Old 03-13-2003, 11:08 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default

Yes, but doing this, do I have to re-format? This will, of course lose me masses of programs which would be painful indeed. Does the repair process do the same? Sorry I am a junior techie and have never tried repair before.
__________________

D.Arbib is offline  
Old 03-13-2003, 01:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 146
Default

NO you dont have to reformat....the OS is already installed in your first drive so you wont lose any of your programs..and the second hard drive must be empty or doesnt matter anyway...you have to just install the OS on it by connecting it separately.

Repairing::
when you type the command FIXBOOT it asks you whether you really wanna do it ...say yes "Y" and it will happen instantly...this works if you have more than one oS on your machine or say the same HDD but maybe it will work with both the HDDs....(*correct me if I am wrong*)
__________________
\"To Err is human, to really foul things up requires a computer\"
Zagadka is offline  
Old 03-15-2003, 12:39 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default

Finally I gave up. Backed up files from "C" to "D" and did a complete re-install of XP pro and all its additions (3 hours 20 minutes) and some of backed up programs worked but, unfortunately not all, including USB host controller, printer driver and others which I will have to re-install. At last, I can now choose on or other of my drives. Thanks to all you who tried to assist me. This thread can close
__________________

D.Arbib is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.