Hard drive....OS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2004, 11:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 56
Question Hard drive....OS

I have a hard drive..andf a computer to put it in...the hard drive is blank.... I wanna put Windows ME on it.. I put in the disk...and all it says is no OS found.. I cant make it boot off the cd to setup the OS.. How do I do tht.. I have a copy of XP and i put tht in and it boot right up...but i dont want XP on it... any ideas? Thanx

coolboy696 is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 11:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371

use a 98 boot disk, start with cdrom support, run ME setup from cd

IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 06:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

Originally posted by IAM_7154
use a 98 boot disk, start with cdrom support, run ME setup from cd
yes, www.bootdisk.com
the 98 bootdisk always works fine for ME.

Why don't you want XP?
ME sucks, its the worst WindowsOS ever.

What are the systems specs?

Also, make sure the A: floppydrive is set as primary boot device in youyr BIOS settings
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 05:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333

I know this isn't the answer, but are you really sure that you would rather have Win ME. From what I have heard, 98 SE is better than ME.
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 06:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf

Win 2000 is the best...ME sux
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 06:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 183

Win 2k Pro is alright, just don't have it connected to the Internet before you add on a firewall.

~ Fawks

Red Fox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.