Hard drive names - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2005, 04:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default Hard drive names

My C drive is always my prime drive, however it is not now because i formatted. i thought as default C was prime, i guess not. Can anyone tell me how to fix this? Like how to re name them...?
__________________

__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 05:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You cant with the main windows disk

Had the same issue lol
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 05:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

This is going to be hard to get used to
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 05:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Default

how do you rename the CD drives?
__________________
PC Specs:


Corsair TX550M ENTHUSIAST 550W
Intel B85, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III, PCIe 3.0 (x16), MATX MoBo
Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
4GB MSI GTX970 GAMING PCI-E
960G SanDisk UltraII SSD + 2TB SEAGATE Hard Drive
Windows 10

**Spud**
Spud5437 is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 05:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

Yes, like when you go to my computer
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 05:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

change cd/dvd drive name
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 06:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

close enough, .
thanx warez
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 06:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Hard drive names

Quote:
Originally posted by Blitze105
My C drive is always my prime drive, however it is not now because i formatted. i thought as default C was prime, i guess not. Can anyone tell me how to fix this? Like how to re name them...?
you have to reformat and pay attention to your choices on the partition page. this is where everybody make that mistake
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 06:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

when installing a new drive, if you want it to be C, then you have to have it on Primary IDE in the Master position.
that is how drive letters are determined. Later you can move all but system to a different drive letter without any trouble as long as you don't have installed apps attached to it. if you are installing from SATA, then simply disconnect all other drives while installing and that will take care of the problem...

Good luck in the future.
Inaris is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 06:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

a lot of people will make 2 partitions with the xp cd, then without paying attention they hit the format this drive option (full or quick) without realizing they should have click the up arrow after making their second partition so that windows will install on the C partition. it will install on the second one I've done this 2 or 3 times (out of hundreds of formats) myself and I know better
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.