Hard drive half full?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2006, 07:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default Hard drive half full??

Hello everyone, I need some help please. I just built a new 'puter and it seems something is up. I'll start by listing what I have here:

Asus A8N-E mobo
Seagate 250 gb SATA HD 8mb cache
AMD Athlon 4000+ cpu
OCZ 512 x 2 ram
Asus Nvidia 6600 silencer 256 mb vid card
Lite-on DVD burner and dvd rom
ect. ect.
I'm running XP Pro and have just basic software, drivers, and windows updates installed, everything seems to run smooth and fast.

My question is, when I check the properties on the hard drive (the little pie chart) it says that I'm using 110 gigs??? How is this even possible?? I don't think there is any way I can be using that much space with just the basics installed.
Does anybody know what's up? Please advise.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
__________________

Shawnlh is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 09:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

post ascreen shot
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 10:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

odd is it just the pie chart that says this and have you used non windows utilities to see your disk usage.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 10:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

put the system restore down to 5% instead of 12%.

Download CCleaner and get rid of your CRAP.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 11:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tyler1989
odd is it just the pie chart that says this and have you used non windows utilities to see your disk usage.
I justed clicked properties in C: drive to check the chart.
Shawnlh is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 11:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

maybe the full capacity of your hdd is not showing, what is the size it says in the chart? go to start, run, type diskmgmt.msc and see the size of it or if you partitioned it wrong
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 01:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

For the 32 bit of Windows XP you need SP1 or SP2 to properly see hard drives over 120 GB and windows cannot see any Linux File Systems at all so it may apear as you have a smaller hard drive than you actually have if these filesystems are present.

I suggest you download a trail of partition magic and look at your partitioning and file systmems.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 02:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

format it with the xp sp2 disc or make 3 partitions if you don't have that xp disc
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 10:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

I ran the check disk utility and now it's fine, Thanks.
Shawnlh is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 02:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
colin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 206
Default

.
__________________

__________________
ASUS EeePC 1000HA
__________________________________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 / XIGMATEK HDT-S1283
GA-P35 DS3R
G.SKILL 2 x 2GB DDR2 1066
GTX 260
SG 500GB WD 640GB
Corsair VX 450W
Vista Ultimate 64-bit/X-FI Music
colin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.