Hard Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2006, 04:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 145
Send a message via AIM to Tankhead02 Send a message via Yahoo to Tankhead02
Default Hard Drive

I wanna put in anew hard drive. Is it possible to put two hard drives in the same system Unit? If not, how can i replace it and not lose my current stuff, like not having to install a new OS or anything?
__________________

Tankhead02 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 04:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

http://www.ehow.com/how_6030_install-second-hard.html
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 07:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Hard Drive

Quote:
Originally posted by Tankhead02
I wanna put in anew hard drive. Is it possible to put two hard drives in the same system Unit? If not, how can i replace it and not lose my current stuff, like not having to install a new OS or anything?
what exactly are you wanting to do?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 09:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 44
Default

One system can add to 4 hard disk, so if you wanna put 1 more, it's not a problem. If you use the addition harddisk is not a boot disk, you don't need to setup your OS again. Just restart it, and go into Control Panel ---> Add hardward wizard (for windows 2003 or windows2000 server, another OS will be automatically recognize new hard disk)
time_come_back is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 09:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by time_come_back
One system can add to 4 hard disk, so if you wanna put 1 more, it's not a problem. If you use the addition harddisk is not a boot disk, you don't need to setup your OS again. Just restart it, and go into Control Panel ---> Add hardward wizard (for windows 2003 or windows2000 server, another OS will be automatically recognize new hard disk)
are you saying you can only have 4 hard drives on one system?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 10:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 44
Post

Of course, we can have more than 4 hard disk in one system, but on the basic, we can have 4 (IDE 0 & IDE 1 (2 for each IDE)), of course, it's not included SATA
time_come_back is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 08:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 145
Send a message via AIM to Tankhead02 Send a message via Yahoo to Tankhead02
Default

I have one hard drive, and i want to hook another 160GB hard drvie to my computer. IF i don't wanna reinstall my OS, do i make it a slave or a master?
Tankhead02 is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 09:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

slave.....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 06:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 44
Default

slave or master it doesn't master, but you have to make sure one is slave and other is master. (slave can become a boot disk (system disk) as well...)
__________________
<b><font color=\"#0000FF\">Where we are today is a result of the choices we made yesterday.
Lets make the best choices today that we might have the best tomorrow.</font></b>
<font color=\"#FF0000\"><b>The road to success is always under construction.</b></font>
<b><font color=\"#0000FF\"> Everyday is a bad day, some are just worst than others.</font></b>
<font color=\"#FF0000\"><b>If you never learn to face your fears, you\'ll never learn to face life.</b></font>
<b><font color=\"#0000FF\">Live your life so that when you die, you\'re smiling and everyone around you is crying.</font></b>
time_come_back is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 01:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

partition it and make it your my document folder

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=56137
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.