Had 2 XP OS's to boot, deleted one...but still trys to dual boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2007, 07:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to BoysNightOut
Default Had 2 XP OS's to boot, deleted one...but still trys to dual boot

I'm pretty sure I have to remake my boot directory on this one.

I was testing a NLite version Windows Install I created for myself yesterday and installed it on my third HDD in my machine. So it was a dual boot machine then. Well after testing I went ahead and just formatted the HDD again and cleared off the new Windows data on the disk. Well now upon rebooting it still wants to dual boot of course...last time I had this issue with Linux as a second OS because it was a FAT file system I had to just reformat the whole **** PC to get one new boot directory.

Is there a way to clear off it's looking for the OS I loaded yesterday so it goes back to original how it was maybe? Or do I need to reload Windows allover again to fix it...is there a registry ability to edit perhaps?

I guess if it comes down to it, I can setup my 1st HDD again with my new Windows CD I created as it is only 235MB and much smaller/faster than my stock 570MB one currently...
__________________

__________________
AMD 3400+ 2.4GHz
1GB DDR Crucial RAM
WD 120GB(2x)/250GB
BoysNightOut is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 02:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Modify your Boot.INI file. Right Click My Computer --> Properties --> Advanced Tab --> Click on 'Settings' under "Start Up & Recovery" --> Click 'Edit' Beside "To edit startptions up ofile manually, click edit" Remove the NLite version of Windows from that, and you should be done, just make sure you remove the right one.
__________________

__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 02:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 22
Default

And yea, make sure you double-check the jumper settings while you're at it. Make sure the Windows drive is Master, data one is Slave.
asus7300gs is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 03:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

or u can run msconfig and click the boot.ini tab and click check all boot paths and it will remove the dead one
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 05:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Bruce
or u can run msconfig and click the boot.ini tab and click check all boot paths and it will remove the dead one
Good idea, I didn't think of that.
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 05:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to BoysNightOut
Default

So wow that was easy as pie.

I'll tellya how it works! Easy as pie is how it works!


Thanks for the help all. Worked immediately!
__________________

__________________
AMD 3400+ 2.4GHz
1GB DDR Crucial RAM
WD 120GB(2x)/250GB
BoysNightOut is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.