GUI doesn't load - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2005, 04:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Angry GUI doesn't load

Hi All,

I'm trying to troubleshoot an IBM system that doesn't load the Graphical User INterface. It's running windows XP Pro, and the user says it has a virus. I am able to run a sophos scan in Safe Mode with command prompt, and it says it doesn't detect any virus. When it boots to normal mode, it just has the desktop background pic, nothing else, no icons or task bar, but I am able to run programs through task manager(Ctrl, Alt, Del). I ran Internet Explorer and downloaded AVG anti-virus and did a scan, still nothing, no viruses. What's causing the GUI from running, is there a certain file that should be checked or what. Any ideas on how to fix this ?

msaunders is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 04:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760

Whatever the machine has is affecting explorer.exe
You can bring up the gui by ctrl, alt ,del then clicking new task and typing explorer.exe

You should really load the machine into safemode w/networking
and download and install HighJackThis.

you can scan the machine and post in the analyze section of the spyware thread.

brady is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 04:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339

The Explorer.exe is not funtioning correctly. Sorry I cannot say more.

I'd recommend you run a repair with the XP CD.
<form action=\"\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760

Tyler is correct in saying that your explorer.exe is acting up, like my above post... however if you run the repair right now your virus or whatever you might have will still be there. It might act right for a day or so but it will revert back once the mal code grabs ahold again.
brady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.