Greeting Card Program Installation Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2004, 07:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Exclamation Greeting Card Program Installation Problem

Ok, if anyone can give any hints as what to do I would be most appreciative!

It started out with me installing Print Artist v8 on my C:\ drive. It did not run correctly under XP, so I downloaded an update. After this update was applied, I wanted to move Print Artist to another hard drive, as Windows was extremely low and it occupied about eight gigs. Anyhow, the uninstallation was corrupted--presumably by the update, but either way, that did not work. I manually deleted the files/folders, then went through the registry deleting any and all files relating to it that I found.

But the problem is now, I try to install it...insert the CD, the autorun pops up, and I click "Install" (I also tried the .exe on the CD as well--no go either). It runs under the process tree in Windows XP, but it never loads the application. I've tried restarting, closing all other apps, etc...and cannot think of what else to try. If you have *any* ideas, please let me know! Thanks, -X

Vormund is offline  
Old 06-20-2004, 09:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178

Ok, I got it :-) Nope, system restore was turned off--on now though. Anyways, I figured out after all this it was not the update that corrupted the uninstall--it was the part of when I tried to uninstall the program the first time, it hung there...I waited a couple of hours before ending it. After that is when it became corrupted.

I tried almost everything I could think of--emailed tech support and had nothing new come about to help.

Then I had an idea, and it amazingly worked! So just if anyone cares/ever has anything like this in the future,

I ran msconfig, and put it in 'diagnostic' mode--just loading the neccessities...and from there I could run the Setup.exe just fine. So yay! Thanks for the help, MicroBell.
Vormund is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.