GPO Settings Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2006, 05:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 53
Default GPO Settings Help

Hi.
I've noticed that people on certain machines using XP cannot drag icons to the desktop. but they can right click and send to desktop as a shortcut.
They also cannot drag files into the D drive to copy them to CD.

I need to know if there is a GPO setting (server 2003) that could be preventing this. I had a look at properties for the CD drive thinking that there might be a security tab, but there wasnt one.

Thanks
Hermann
__________________

hrowinski is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 08:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

I believe there is, this I assume is a domain envirnoment right? Everyone is log to the 2003 server and AD is enable? You might want to check the OU the users account or computes are on, check the GPO setting for that OU, I don't know the exact setting since I'm not on any 2003 domain controller at the moment.

If this happens to all computer that authenicate with this 2003 server I would definitely check that.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 09:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 53
Default

Yes it is a domain. & using AD.
The desktop problem is happening to everyone.

Anychance when your next on a DC that you would know the exact GPO setting?
I've read and re-read all my settings and I dont know which one would be the setting to stop people from draging and dropping.
hrowinski is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 09:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

I'm sure about the exact setting, but you want to check the OU that the users account or computers are in. Check the GPO, the desktop setting should be in User Configuration/Administrative Template/Desktop

I'm not too sure about the CD problem. I'll look into that later on.

*EDIT*

You should download and install the GP manager console, it's much easier to find the exact setting being applied. Remember, if you install this you can not go back to the default GPO manager!

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsserv...c/default.mspx
Law is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 12:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

have you tried start menu properties?

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 04:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 53
Default

No I havent... Thanks I'll have a look at that. I only noticed this problem with some new Dell machines that I purchased.
I'll see if thats the problem and let you know
hrowinski is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 05:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

I would run the RSoP tool against a machine that is having the issue then you can see if there are any GPO's being applied to it. This will also show if there is a local policy set causing the problem. It may simply be as simple as Eric's solution though One can hope anyway.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 06:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 53
Default

I will try the Rsop tool.
I had a look in the customize start menu, & enable drag & drop was checked so I'm sure it is not that.
hrowinski is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 04:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 53
Default

I have run rsop and here are the settings in place for desktop



As you can see not many settings. I have removed a few settings & cannot understand why it is not allow users to drag & drop to the desktop or a CD drive
hrowinski is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 05:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 53
Default

The problem must be a GPO setting. I've taken the test user out of the OU and put it in another one without any GPO settings and The desktop works the way it should. Any ideas on anther setting that could be causing this. I've been looking at each setting
__________________

hrowinski is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.