Got ride of Viruses and now comp is worse plz help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2004, 11:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 199
Send a message via AIM to bomt697
Default Got ride of Viruses and now comp is worse plz help

i got ride of some viruses last night not sure which i was sleepin while my anti was running. but after it finished i rebooted and all my shortcuts stop working, only the sound properties load up on boot up and i cant even use it. i tried MSCONFIG but thats no luck as well. what can i do to fix this besides the answer to all software probs...format...
__________________

__________________
if it was up to me, my sound system would be worth more then the latest and greatest comp.

-Gigabite 880 mobo
-AMD FX -8350 Black edition
-Kingston Hyper X 16gigs
-Western Digital 1Tb HD
-GeForce GTX 660Ti
-thermaltake 850watt psu
-logitech Z-55oo speakers
bomt697 is offline  
Old 05-07-2004, 11:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 15
Send a message via AIM to DraftHorsePower
Default

can you run a system restore?
__________________

DraftHorsePower is offline  
Old 05-07-2004, 12:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 199
Send a message via AIM to bomt697
Default

na i cant run anything not even my burning program
__________________
if it was up to me, my sound system would be worth more then the latest and greatest comp.

-Gigabite 880 mobo
-AMD FX -8350 Black edition
-Kingston Hyper X 16gigs
-Western Digital 1Tb HD
-GeForce GTX 660Ti
-thermaltake 850watt psu
-logitech Z-55oo speakers
bomt697 is offline  
Old 05-07-2004, 12:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 15
Send a message via AIM to DraftHorsePower
Default

do they work in safemode?
DraftHorsePower is offline  
Old 05-08-2004, 09:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if you're running Windows 2000/XP, reboot, pop in the OS CD, and do a repair-install
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 02:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
NIN
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 202
Default

First thing you always do is try safe mode, if that works you know it is a driver problem that is really messing everything up. But in this case it looks like system restore is the best solution though.
__________________
A+, Network+, and powerpoint certified

Studying Linux+
NIN is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 03:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

that's not true at all, just because safe mode works doesn't mean squat, windows loads half of the stuff it needs to for safe mode, hence the name. You've got things from shutting off your networking to making your startup programs not load, etc... doesn't mean at all that it's just a driver problem
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.