got a good one here - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2007, 01:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default got a good one here

ok heres the deal. i got a customers pc, and it was one thing after another. so i got all the hardware problems fixed, and upgraded hdd, but just cloned the old one (it failed on me) and put it on a 80gb wd hdd. now the main problem is (its not hardware, on a clean install it screams like my hp) its just slow. ive disabled all startup programs and services in MSCONFIG, but nothing. i click on MY COMPUTER and i just get an hourglass and flashlight for about 15min then it shows the contents. it takes like 30 min to shut down, but the odd thing is the xp bar goes acrost 8 times, it was 20 on the old hdd.

i gave it 768mb of ram, from 256.
i gave it 80gb of hdd, from 60.
i gave it 350w of power, from 250.
i gave it a 1.8ghz p4, from 1.6.
i upgraded the hsf.
i upgraded the ide cables.
i upgraded the cd drive

**** i even did a barebone boot with just the essientalls and the 80gb (which was my old gaming drive, it rivals my sata drive) and yet its still slow. the whole time ive been typing this, its been goin with the hourglass and flashlight.

reinstallation is out of the question, they have got too many important documents on here, cookies, bookmarks, programs, etc. right now he is using a 366mhz 192mb 6gb laptop un....YES IT FINALLY WENT...till i get the pc back to him. wow that took 11min for my computer to open. ideas? i really need to get this thing out of here by tomorrow night. its 10:11 right now on wednesday, soo...i got 16hrs.

i even went and got diskeeper 2007 and completely did the drive....and still, its slowwww
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 01:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: got a good one here

wipe your harddrive with powermax before any install. it clean everything. you might have a bootsector virus on that drive. I had the same situation as you b4 and powermax fixed the problem

run this to do a diagnostic test
Send big files the easy way with sendspace. Files too large for email attachments? No problem!
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 02:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: got a good one here

ok let me throw in a twist. i went into msconfig, and put it on diagnostic startup, and it works perfect. right now im going to restart processing the system.ini and the win.ini files. if it still works, then i will go one by one with system services untill it does it, because i am pretty sure that is where the problem lies.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 02:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: got a good one here

ok problem is in system services somewhere. is there a utility that i can use that will list off everything so i can put it here? because im a hardware tech, not that much on software.

and also which ones are essential for xp? like for visual styles, and ones that wont let windows error out trying to run something?

hmm. this brings me to wonder. would a repair install work? i just need to get this system to run pretty quick, by tomorow night.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 08:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: got a good one here

you are asking question yet you are ignoring answers
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 12:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: got a good one here

ok, well its fixed now. its soo much of an improvement, before it took 30min to shut down (now 1min) the xp bar went acrost 40+ times, now less than 10, my computer wouldnt open for a long time, now it opens instantly, internet was slow...now its fast.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 04:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: got a good one here

What was the fix?
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 05:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: got a good one here

i cant remember now, but it was one of microsofts services
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recommend a Good MMORPG zetahammy PC Gaming 12 09-29-2007 01:25 PM
Good UK online website that sells / specializes in mp3s? Willeh Off Topic Discussion 5 07-27-2007 08:02 PM
khan008 here is a run down of what is good and bad with your build saltynay New Systems | Building and Buying 190 05-22-2007 04:56 PM
Is this a good cooler? Mike9182 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 05-14-2007 09:11 PM
Good Webcam? SiZcO Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 04-07-2007 02:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.