Got a friend that is wanting me to put Xp and a 120gig harddrive-on his 400mhz comp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2005, 12:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 24
Default Got a friend that is wanting me to put Xp and a 120gig harddrive-on his 400mhz comp

Let me get this right...

put in harddrive

put in boot disk

install xp

open up comp and find out what drivers I need? for video audio ect...

install programs he wants...

then give it back...

/boggle I have reformatted lots of harddrives but never installed a new one and odn't wanna appear as a newb
__________________

Cameron is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 12:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

its pretty much the same thing...
__________________

phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 01:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371
Default

whats the bootdisk for?
IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 02:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by IAM_7154
whats the bootdisk for?
xp and 2k cd-roms are boot disks........tha's why you don't get the floppy past me....
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 11:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 24
Default

I got a burned copy of XP and it is a winrar archive...anyway to use this cd? It is legit, I made a backup along timeago and the other one was lost ?

Any answers to that
Cameron is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 12:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to ReverseFluxx Send a message via MSN to ReverseFluxx
Default

Hmm well if there's a DOS program that can extract winrar archives, then copy the archive from the CD to the hard drive and use the program off the disk to extract it and run setup directly from the hard drive. Otherwise, you could convert the winrar archive into a .zip file and use pkunzip to unpack it.
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sf/type/2/qlutch.png
Core 2 Duo E6850, Foxconn P35A-S, 8GB DDR2-800, 160+160=320GB SATAII RAID 0, BFG 9800GTX, Windows 7 Pro, HP 24" LCD, AG Neovo 19" LCD
ReverseFluxx is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 08:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

it's probably an .iso file. burn it with nero or mount it with alcohol 120.
EricB is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 01:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to IntelUser101
Default

all i got to say is, windows xp would lag your friends comp like crazy, because how weak the processor is you know, but i dont know about the hard drive that should work i suppose, nothing wrong with putting in a new and improved harddrive...
__________________
Smart at cell phones? help me out i accidently deleted my own cell phone\'s ##..yes i said DELETED, motorola v190, can u help? catch me on aim at usahed
IntelUser101 is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 11:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to ReverseFluxx Send a message via MSN to ReverseFluxx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by IntelUser101
all i got to say is, windows xp would lag your friends comp like crazy, because how weak the processor is you know, but i dont know about the hard drive that should work i suppose, nothing wrong with putting in a new and improved harddrive...
A 400mhz machine will run XP just fine as long as you have enough RAM.
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sf/type/2/qlutch.png
Core 2 Duo E6850, Foxconn P35A-S, 8GB DDR2-800, 160+160=320GB SATAII RAID 0, BFG 9800GTX, Windows 7 Pro, HP 24" LCD, AG Neovo 19" LCD
ReverseFluxx is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 12:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ReverseFluxx
A 400mhz machine will run XP just fine as long as you have enough RAM.
true. especially if you have 512mb
__________________

EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.