Google toolbar - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2006, 08:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default Google toolbar

This is peculiar.

XPpro. I had the Yahoo toolbar and the Google tool bar.

Opening "My Yahoo" I could not get my "Bookmarks" into the left hand column of the Yahoo opening oage,

As soon as I uninstaled Google toolbar, then immediately all my
Bookmarks arrived normally and the main opening page widened.

Is there a fix within the Google toolbar, please.?
__________________

D.Arbib is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 10:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

I don't know of a fix, but the two toolbars will conflict with each other. Best to use only one. My kids had about 4 and nothing worked. They each wanted to be the main toolbar and it was a mess. I suggest picking one and going with it. Simplify.
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 10:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

A typical infected computer has about 4 of them. Don't use IE.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 11:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default Google toolbar

Thank you.

Since the demise of the stand alone BT-Yahoo browser I have had to use the Yahoo toolbar which opens in IE6/7 as does MSN.
I do use Netscape 8.1 but there is no UK version yet.

As far as infection is concerned I have Norton a/v, Windows Defender, Ad-Aware SE and Xoftspy SE.

The latter comes up with 19 Power Spy registry keys described as Severe Risk, but after deletion, several programs would not open and I had to do a system restore to get back to sanity,
D.Arbib is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 10:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to xlargebuddha
Default

Yea don't you IE I HATE THAT DANG THING! GRRR. But two toolbar will conflict its annoying,

P.s. googles better ok by :P
xlargebuddha is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.