Google Site - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2003, 12:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to goddessraven
Red face Google Site

This may sound silly, but I can't seem to get to the www.google.com website. I used to be able to, I even have the toolbar installed on my comp. The odd thing is, I can search through images on the toolbar, but I can't search google or even get to the site. When I try a page pops up that says it can't be displayed. I'm not sure what's causing this. Does anyone have any ideas, or have anything I can try to fix it? I have Windows XP and use IE 6. If you need more info, please let me know.

Raven
__________________

goddessraven is offline  
Old 12-09-2003, 12:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 351
Send a message via Yahoo to A_Zip1
Default

Hmm yeh this happens to me sumtimes with websites... i usually restart and its ok but yeh try http://www.googe.ca instead of .com
__________________

A_Zip1 is offline  
Old 12-09-2003, 01:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to goddessraven
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by A_Zip1
Hmm yeh this happens to me sumtimes with websites... i usually restart and its ok but yeh try http://www.googe.ca instead of .com
I've tried restarting, and I've tried using alternative site addresses for it. Nothing seems to work. I've done spyware scans and virus scans but I can't seem to find the cause. :-(
goddessraven is offline  
Old 12-09-2003, 02:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,364
Send a message via AIM to shan
Default

when it goes to that site, what is displaying in your address bar?
__________________
<center><h2><font color=\"red\">C:\\ Is the root of all evil</font></h2>
<hr width=\"50%\">
phiber@sysdum.com
spam this account, it's fun.
shan is offline  
Old 12-09-2003, 12:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to goddessraven
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by shan
when it goes to that site, what is displaying in your address bar?
It just recently started redirecting itself to this page: http://www.mywebsearch.com/jsp/GGmai...www.google.com

Before it would stay at http://www.google.com and show me the page that says Internet Explorer could not find this page etc etc.
goddessraven is offline  
Old 12-09-2003, 03:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

reinstall the latest google bar tool from google.com, don't install from a setup you downloaded a while ago. have you tried manually putting in google.com in the address bar?
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-09-2003, 04:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by goddessraven
It just recently started redirecting itself to this page: http://www.mywebsearch.com/jsp/GGmai...www.google.com
Could that mean that her browser has been hijacked? If so, would Hijack This! be useful here?

I have used MyWebSearch and they seem to be a good search engine. They have a button on their homepage to make them the default search engine. How do you change the default search engine in your browser?

Dave

**DMo ways hi to raven**
Dave is offline  
Old 12-09-2003, 06:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,364
Send a message via AIM to shan
Default

yea, you might try running some spyware software such as ad-aware or something like that, i hate those things.
__________________
<center><h2><font color=\"red\">C:\\ Is the root of all evil</font></h2>
<hr width=\"50%\">
phiber@sysdum.com
spam this account, it's fun.
shan is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 12:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to goddessraven
Default

I've ran AdAware - it says I don't have anything. That was the first thing I did when this started happening.
I can't download the new google toolbar because I can't get to the google site at all. It doesn't matter if I type it in on my address bar or click on a link.
Should I try Hijack This?
Oh and, thank you all so much for responding. I really appreciate it!
goddessraven is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 12:36 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 46
Default

Try entering the ip address for google.com
http://216.239.41.99

maybe this will get you to the site.

Also, take a look at the file called host in system32/drivers/etc
addresses can be redirected here, if you see anything in here with google.com in it, or just google, delete it.

By default this file contains this (windows 2000) :

# Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
# 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
# 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

127.0.0.1 localhost
__________________

volkanb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.