Good ol' DOS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2005, 11:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Bumblebee Tuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 213
Default Good ol' DOS

Here's an oldie, but goodie. I've put DOS back on an old PC of mine. Pentium 1, 60MHz hee, hee, heee. Now, I want to get the CD Rom to work, but how do I install it on DOS. It's not picking it up on the startup, and it's not showing up in the bios. I know the CD Rom works. Does anyone know how to get it to work. And don't ask why I'm using this old piece of shoe, I know, I know, so don't ask, lol
__________________

Bumblebee Tuna is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 11:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

You need to use a program called MSCDEX.EXE. You add it to your AUTOEXEC.BAT i believe. I don't remember exactly what you do with it though.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 12:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Bumblebee Tuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 213
Default

Ya, I just realized that I need to find the cd-rom floppy drivers, shoot, it might not be able to do it just yet. Bummer
__________________
http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_qui...er_mulcahy.jpg

AMD Athalon 64bit +3200 2.0GHz
Windows XP Professional
NVidia 9800GTX PCIEx
Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
400Gig HDD
2Gig RAM
19\" LCD Widescreen 4ms
Bumblebee Tuna is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 04:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to Iantosca
Default

I'm sure the drivers are floating around the internet somewhere. I remember doing this on an old computer with mscdex.exe and autoexec.bat. I was young, probably around 12 or so ... so it shouldn't be too hard. Just a little confidence booster for ya.
Iantosca is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 12:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

...I don't think I was alive! :freak: ...
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 01:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Bumblebee Tuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 213
Default

ya, thanks for the confidence booster, lol. haha
Bumblebee Tuna is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 08:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

add these lines into the autoexec.bat and config.sys and also check the site below for drive specifics


Autoexec.bat

C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\MSCDEX.EXE /D:NCI000 /V

Config.sys

DEVICE=C:\CDROM\IDE-CD.SYS /D:NCI000

here is a site with examples listing the cdrom type:

http://www.techadvice.com/tech/C/CDROM_DOSSU.htm
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.