A good firewall needed. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2005, 11:45 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Ahhh...the security of 2 hardware firewalls and multiple software firewall apps...

...Because lord knows there are so many people directly hacking your machine. You're such a desierable target, after-all. All that money to be made and secret information to gather from you.

__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 11:50 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 260
Default

Shoobie you'd be suprised, crackers want trojans on your computer to turn it into a bot for their illegal purposes (DDOS, Spam, etc)

However, if you're a reasonable intelligent person a single hardware firewall should be all you ever need.

If you don't use IE (use Firefox or Opera) you've already elminated like 80% of the threat.

The rest is merely keeping your virus and spyware scanner up to date.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Overclocked to 3300+)
ASUS K8V-Deluxe
1GB PC3200 DDR
2x200GB Seagate SATA RAID 0
BFG 6800GT OC w\\128MB Ram
2x 19\" Samsung 930B LCDs
jinexile is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 12:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I got one hardware one. I got annoyed with software ones ages ago, they seem to be out to get me when there is a enemy in front of me.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 12:05 PM   #14 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

get a sonicwall
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 12:41 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Well, most "things" trying to make your machine a zombie server...are robots...

Bots bounce pretty well off of anything. Not to mention that if yer box does become a zombie, it's pretty easy to tell.

Sometimes, I think all the security mainstream people take to protect themselves, is mostly overkill. If yer a server, fine. If yer a work machine, fine. If you're just a home-use gaming/web-surfing box, relax a little. Update your AV once a week, put a firewall up (any will do), and yer fine.

Remember the old adage..."The bank with the most deputies standing around it...is the one with the most money."
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 02:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Very true, but I have a cisco router and almost nothing good on my PC

I am barely worried with antivirus since I installed XP every 2 weeks lately. Gotta quit that habbit.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 02:53 PM   #17 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

I use SystemSuite's Firewall along with the Firewall in my Linksys Router.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 10:23 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Send a message via Yahoo to Tinyman
Default

Now that is response!!!!Thanks to all for the info.Personally,I would like to use a hardware firewall for the security of the thing,but time does not permit and money does not allow right now.I've always used Zonealarm and haven't had too much trouble.I'm always looking for that "logical next step".Thanks again folks.
Tinyman is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 11:32 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

From my experience, I'd say that a hardware firewall is good for external traffic (from outside coming in), and software firewalls are good for internal traffic (trojans etc.). Most h/w firewalls, unless you check very carefully, don't really check for internal traffic (stuff going out). You get a trojan and you are dead. The "free" zonealarm is also not great for sohpisticated trojans that can piggy back on programs on its "approved" list. I believe, zonealarm pro can handle this. There is also a program called Trojan Hunter that comes highly recommended - even though I am not using it.

It's good to have one of each. I'd go with the "free" zonealarm and a good h/w firewall that can do traffic monitoring. But if you are a paranoid person, a h/w firewall is MUST!..
Chankama is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 03:11 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Default

I use a hardwall/software combination.
My software component is Sygate, which is much more configurable than Zonealarm. My hardware is in my router, which still allows for port forwarding for certain programs.
__________________

lawcox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.