a good firewall and anti-virus program? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2006, 10:06 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

s0me0ne , as far as i know routers can only block certain configured incoming ports. it have no application control like in software firewalls so a software firewall is a much better choice
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 10:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

it's good to have a software and hardware firewall. I've been telling people to get nod32 since forever
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 02:25 AM   #13 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

I use Computer Associates (now just CA) eTrust Internet Security suite. It includes a really good a/v (uses zip resources), a version of ZoneAlarm Pro, PestPatrol antispyware (I use it as a back-up, as I have that covered), and anti-spam (which i don't use, as I use webmails (Yahoo and Gmail).

I'm on my third year with this company, and I will be going for a fourth when the time for renewal comes.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 05:33 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I use a hardware firewall. IMO, it is a lot beter than most software firewalls.

and I have Antivir Personal Edition (v7 Beta)
it is light on resources, and works really well. it's also free.

one of my friends used to use Avast, but it expired a couple of months ago.
and just a couple of days ago, I recommended Antivir. he downloaded it, and once he installed it, the amount of virus detections he got was crazy.
a full scan deleted over 1500 viruses on his computer.
and just having it on guard mode before that deleted over 100

anyway, he learned his lesson the hard way.....
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 10:01 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

yeah i have a router too how do i make sure the firewall works on it and if it does will i have to turn it off to do somethings
__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 06:17 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

how do i no my router firewall is working
__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 06:20 PM   #17 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

if you can connect to the internet.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 08:01 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

not all routers have firewalls.

A easy way to check if your router firewall is working is to run a software firewall and get something/someone to scan your IP. If your hardware firewall is ok then you should get no hits on the software firewall.
There are web sites that provide security checking/scanning, use one of those maybe.

as an additional note i'd say dont rely on just a hardware firewall, they dont block any outgoing traffic and most common ones can be bypassed by a hacker.

I vote kaspersky AV and outpost firewall.

Quote:
yeah i have a router too how do i make sure the firewall works on it and if it does will i have to turn it off to do somethings

you shouldn't have to turn it off but you will probably need to add exception rules if you ever need anything to connect to you. I.e. if you host a direct connect game you need to add your opponents IP on the exception list.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 10:41 AM   #19 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default

AVG Free Edition is good but dont know about firewall
__________________
http://instagram.com/nay206pug#
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 01:58 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Symantec Antivirus 10 Corporate Edition with XP Firewall and ZA Pro and linksys FW
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.