GOING CRAZY!!! Windows Standby locks up! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2005, 06:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 83
Angry GOING CRAZY!!! Windows Standby locks up!

Hello all,

GRRRRRRRRRR!! I'm going nuts here. I shut the lid on my laptop often and let it go to standby instead of shutting it off. Lately, the laptop locks up everytime I open the lid. It never used to do this, it always worked flawlessly.

Only the mouse works. When I do a CTRL-ALT-DELETE, it takes about 3-4 minutes for task manager to come up. I notice that the processer is at 100% usage all the time. Something is locking up the processor, but what???? The only thing I can do is power down and power back up.

The only thing I can think of is my Linksys Compact USB network adapter. It plugs directly into my USB port, not via cable. But....this problem didn't start right after I installed the adapter. It was running fine for a couple of weeks before it started locking up.

I've reformatted my hard drive, reinstalled my software and guess what? It still happens.

Anyone have any ideas or know of a particular problem? I went to the Microsoft Knowledgebase and tried a search, but came up empty.

Any ideas would greatly be appreciated!

Viken K.
__________________

vikenk is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 06:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 83
Default

I forgot to mention:

When I look at task manager, it's the "System" process that is at 100%.

Initially I started shutting down processes one by one until I noticed that it was "System" that was at 100%.

I'm running Windows XP Pro.
__________________

vikenk is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 06:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

How many icons are running in your taskbar? You running XP with all the updates?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 06:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 83
Default

Windows XP is up to date, with SP-2 and all the newest updates. I hardly run anything in my system tray. I only run the system clock, speaker, power/battery icon, and the LAN indicators. No other software runs in the background.
vikenk is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

When you unplug your usb does your system not lock up after standby?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 83
Default

Actually, I tried that first. I tried removing the USB adapter before shutting the lid, but it seems to make no difference. I haven't tried that since I reinstalled the OS though. I reinstalled yesterday.
vikenk is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Do you have a usb mouse or keyboard with your laptop?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 83
Default

No. I only have one USB port and the Linksys need the full 5V and won't operate without it.

BTW, I was looking through the freeware links and saw "BootVis", which seems to be a Microsoft product. Is this an add-on? It claims to make booting up from cold boot/standby/hibernate faster and better. Any ideas?
vikenk is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I dont think they support it anymore...you can try thou
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 83
Default

OK.....I think I may be getting somewhere. I installed the BootVis, which is a developer's tool. It measures how fast you system boots.

Anyway...Using the tool, I made the computer standby, and when it resumed, I caught a glimpse of the Windows auto-shutdown menu (you know, the one that comes up when you shut down Windows and it wants to shut down a process). The non-responsive item it was trying to shut-down was related to my Synaptics Touch-Pad utility.

So then it dawned on me....my mouse is the only thing that works upon resuming from standby? Why couldn't the touch pad be the problem?? I removed the Synaptics utility and have been using the Windows touch pad driver. I tried it twice so far, and the laptop has not locked up yet.

Crossing my fingers...
__________________

vikenk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.