GLobal key... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2006, 04:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 32
Default GLobal key...

hello all
is there some method on windows to create a global key so that when press it some application could run ?
thanks
__________________

houssam_ballout is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 09:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Im not sure in what you are trying to accomplish here...
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 09:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13
Default

well I think you can get apps to create keys and then you can entre these into your key auth system
kicken18 is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 10:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 83
Default

You mean a keygen?
Hawk is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 12:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

I think your talking about a hot key. A shortcut to run something right?

This is possible.

this is one example:
http://www.autohotkey.com/
Inaris is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 04:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 32
Default

for example, to run a certain program, I can press some combination of keys, ....
houssam_ballout is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 02:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13
Default

...ok now I am even more confused
kicken18 is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 02:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I know what your talking about, I just never heard of anyone doing it.

For example, say you want to open up notepad. You could press Ctrl + NP. Or something like that to run the program.

Good luck trying to find a way.
Ste is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 04:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

See my post above... Click on it, then download and run it. That will help you get there. IBM provides this for their machines, Dell does too I think. It's not very hard, just a program that takes the intrupts from the keyboad and if it get a specific one will do something.
Inaris is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 03:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 32
Default

its ok, thanks for helping,
but Can we do it via the registry? or some thing inside windows core
__________________

houssam_ballout is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.