gifs and sounds - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2004, 01:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default gifs and sounds

Is it possible to attach a music snippet to an already existing gif file? so that it plays while the gif is in its animation? if so how?
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 09:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to n_derr
Default

no
__________________

__________________
My PC:
AMD Athlon 64 3200+
512 MB 2700 (Soon to be 1gb PC 3200)
ATI Radeon 9500 Pro (Soon to be ATI Radeon AIW 9800 Pro)
n_derr is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 09:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

U can make it a flash file ...that way u can have audiofor the gif file.
Ofcourse it won't be a gif anymore
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 10:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,179
Send a message via AIM to Emily
Default

Like preet said, you can import the gif file into Flash and import the audio too, and then export the whole thing as a gif. It could work, I'm not quite sure.
__________________
www.upstark.com
Emily is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 10:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

No emily ... sadly that would not happen ... the gif format itself cannot hold any audio .. infact even the no. of colors on a gif image is pretty limited.
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 11:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,179
Send a message via AIM to Emily
Default

Duuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuh.

Just to warn everyone, I'm going to be making stupid comments such as "Yes, you can put audio in a GIF file" for the next three weeks. These are the results of SAT testing time every year.

My bad.
__________________
www.upstark.com
Emily is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 11:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

so....now that the dabate is over.....lol.....what would be the most recommended flash creating software...preferably free....?
jaksback is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 11:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,179
Send a message via AIM to Emily
Default

Uh. Macromedia Flash is about it, and it's definitely not free. (I got the educational version for $90.) I think there might be a couple other programs that are easier versions of Flash, but I've never used them and don't know how much they cost. There's one called Swish, I think.

If it's just one or two files that you need to do this with, you could just download the trial version of Flash.
__________________
www.upstark.com
Emily is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 11:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

thanks emily, and yes it would be just a few, although i could see that creating flashes might be addictive.
Macramedia is the same company that makes Dreamweaver 2004 right?
jaksback is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 11:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,179
Send a message via AIM to Emily
Default

Yup, Macromedia makes Dreamweaver.
__________________

__________________
www.upstark.com
Emily is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.