ghosting/reinstalling OS

Status
Not open for further replies.

jordo_99

Daemon Poster
well...I'm a networking student and I know I'll find these answers out sooner or later, but I'd rather know now.

So...I do a clean install of XP Pro every 3-4 months on my (1) PC. Then I go through a long, annoying process of re-downloading updates, re-configuring XP to my liking and reinstall about 15 programs (I have all the exe on a seperate drive). It usually takes about 3-4 hours at least (just a guess). Also, if it matters, I do the clean install for performance reasons and possibly trojans, spyware, malware...etc (no, i don't look up pr0n on this PC)

I talked to my prof about it and he said ghosting would be the post painless process but when I installed a ghosting software it just looked like java code to me.

1.) is ghosting difficult and/or worth the time to learn it now instead of waiting until I take a course involving it?

2.) what other alternatives can you guys think of aside from just doing everything manually?

I was also thinking about trying to install all my programs/games on a seperate partition and then importing the registery files, but my prof told me that wouldn't work if I did a clean install.

3.)Any alternatives similar to that which might work?

**edit**

Another idea I've had was to create a backup of the entire partition (OS, programs, updates...everything) and then instead of doinga clean install, just reverting to the backup. Is that a decent option as well?

Moved to Windows. This isnt a network issue.

1. No Ghost or Acronis True Image are not that hard to use and make a image with.

2. Get your system setup how you want then make a Image with Ghost or Acronis. I have at least 50 old DVD's lying around with old images on them.