Ghosting MS Office and other stuff - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2006, 02:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Default Ghosting MS Office and other stuff

Hi there,

I am about to buy a new computer and the process of transferring all my data is terrifying to me.

When I upgraded my last HD, the computer tech ghosted it so everything seemed pretty much unchanged on the new HD. I didn't have Office on it then, so I am wondering if this will work properly using Norton Ghost 10.0.

I don't have the Office discs which is why I am looking at ghosting.

Can you ghost parts of the old HD or do you have to do the whole thing?

I am a pretty competent computer user, but by no means an expert. Can someone like me handle such a task?

Thanks
Simone
__________________

Tikidoll is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 04:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

i would try to find someone with an office disk. The install modifies the registry among other things. So unless you knew which keys to modify, you're SOL.


or install www.openoffice.org
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 04:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnnyX
Default

Yes with your new pc comes new hardware that the windows install on you old pc is not setup to handle, You can install the old harddrive in your new pc as a backup and get your files off it but you will need the office install disks to reinstall office and maybe many other apps you have, sorry..
__________________
The enemy of my enemy might just be my enemy¬Ö
JohnnyX is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 06:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Ghosting your machine, if it's win2k or XP shouldn't be that much of a problem. I do it all the time. The only problem you might run into is if office was installed to a different drive, or any program for that matter. You need to have a physical setup simular to your old machine. IE, C drive, not another letter...

When you boot up, you will have a bunch of new hardware found, and might need to reactivate (XP only). Best thing to do, is uninstall all your device drivers before ghosting, and then capture the machine, so that there are not old drivers trying to run on the new machine. Then update the drivers. You shouldn't have too many problems with this. It's not the best way, but it works.

Good luck to you.
Inaris is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 06:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Easy way? Clicky Clicky
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 04:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bradybnmci
Easy way? Clicky Clicky
I CAN UNDERSTAND THE CLICKY, BUT NOT CLICKY CLICKY. YOU ARE NOT SO TRICKY TRICKY
derrmc is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 12:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for the advice! After reading all this, I emailed my friend who gave me a copy last time and asked them to mail it. I got an email back saying she was wussing out about sending pirated software (because she's sending it from overseas). The next email was from another friend to whom I mentioned I was getting a new PC. Her husband's company just got bought by Microsoft and she said she can get me anything I want for ZIP!

So, I guess that solves that problem!

Thanks again for the advice. I'm still going to ghost other stuff, so thanks for the tip about the it needing to go to a drive of the same letter.

Simone
Tikidoll is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 02:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default Re: Ghosting MS Office and other stuff

Quote:
Originally posted by Tikidoll
Hi there,

I am about to buy a new computer and the process of transferring all my data is terrifying to me.

When I upgraded my last HD, the computer tech ghosted it so everything seemed pretty much unchanged on the new HD. I didn't have Office on it then, so I am wondering if this will work properly using Norton Ghost 10.0.

I don't have the Office discs which is why I am looking at ghosting.

Can you ghost parts of the old HD or do you have to do the whole thing?

I am a pretty competent computer user, but by no means an expert. Can someone like me handle such a task?

Thanks
Simone
WORDPAD AND GOOGLE IS ALL YOU NEED
__________________

derrmc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.