Ghosting a disk with errors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2004, 03:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 109
Default Ghosting a disk with errors

Is it possible to Ghost a HDD that has errors on it ?

Thanks for all help
__________________

philb101 is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 12:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

It is possible, you will have to enable some command switches to bypass the errors.
__________________

HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 01:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Well, what type of errors are you getting on the drive? Is it bootable or a storage drive? Can you compact the bad sectors into a partition of the disk and then ghost the single partition?
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 02:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

Yeah I think I agree with that. Enable the option to make Ghost ignore the errors and continue creating an image. I beleive I saw that option in there. I would only do this if it was an emergency to prevent data loss....no actually I would just backup the data that was intact and start over with a new hard disk.
ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.