Ghost in machine - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2007, 12:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Talking Ghost in machine

I am experiencing some odd problems with my PC...Gateway 700X

Firstly, whenever I try to open almost ANY program, or even IE, I constantly first get a PROGRAM NOT RESPONDING message.
Then it will come on without any resetting..This happens frequently when I try to go to diff web pages...
Also, when I try to open any program, it will take what seems forever to load....Almost 5mins will go by and suddenly (after forgetting about it) it will appear..

I am thinking about wiping the computer entirely, and starting with a clean HD..There is really nothing I need to save..All music and video are backed up on an external HD.

Is it difficult to wipe it back to a BRAND NEW status?

As a side note, and I know I may be opening up a can of worms here, but I have begun to look into a new comp, and this one would go to my son AFDTER wiping it clean..

I have several friends pushing me towards an iMac 20"..
I was looking at the HP media m8000n(?)..


DennyCrane99 is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 12:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Ghost in machine

look in the c drive from your drivers and back them up first

The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 10:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 83
Default Re: Ghost in machine

definately, wipe it
steak1986 is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 01:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Ghost in machine

Originally Posted by steak1986 View Post
definately, wipe it

Okay..But how?
Is it easy enuff for a newbie to perform?

I have all my discs for the hardware..Printers etc..
And my software!!

Any ideas relating to going to an iMac over a pC?

DennyCrane99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Either building a newer machine or...going apple...OMG BoysNightOut New Systems | Building and Buying 24 04-28-2007 08:18 PM
Ubuntu virtual machine problem apdrummer Linux and Open Source 0 04-28-2007 10:11 AM
Need help setting up virtual machine apdrummer Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-27-2007 08:52 PM
ghost yacht Nick Off Topic Discussion 11 04-21-2007 12:29 PM
can you guys help me to switch to being an administrator on my windows vista machine rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-03-2007 01:14 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.