ghost and domains - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2006, 09:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default ghost and domains

I don't know if it's just ghost or all imaging programs but why do I have to unjoin a computer from the domain before creating an image, just wondering because it's annoying to have to re-join it when you push the image down, is there a batch or script I could run on startup to do it automatically?
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 03:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

well what is happening? what is telling you to do that? there is no need for it unless you are not sysprep'ing the machine
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 05:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

it says that in the image create task, one time i didn't do it and it killed the DNS server, i think..so to be on the safe side i made sure to remove it since and havent had problems
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 08:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
well what is happening? what is telling you to do that? there is no need for it unless you are not sysprep'ing the machine
It sounds like he is not sysprep'ing it thus the extra step. Now this is how I do it others may have differnt methods, but to answer your question YES YES YES absolutely you MUST ALWAYS join the domain after the image is deployed. Not sure how hardcore you want me to get into it, but reason you have to do this is because you cant have the same common items (GUID, Computer Name etc etc) on the same network. You will just cause chaos and most likely cause problems for those unlucky individuals who happen to have that same network name that the ghost image was made from.


First make an answer file using the setup manager tool and select the "sysprep install" option as this will make one to answer the mini setup questions that comes up after you sysprep a PC and it is first booted. Here you can also fill in the info to automate the "joining domain" problem you are facing. It will create the sysprep.inf answer file you need on the pc you are imaging in the sysprep folder on the C:\

Are you familar with sysprep and the needed folder structure on the C:\ ? I will assume so

Then prepare your image computer with all apps, drivers, updates..yadda yadda..then after your all done ready to make the image, run the sysprep tool on the machine you will be taking an image of. This will strip it of all its unique items.

That should do it! Now when you restore that image to a computer or multiple computers it will fill in the info for you while mainting unique characteristics. Let me know if you get stuck I really like dealing with these types of things..its sad I know..lol.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 11:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I didnt think he was. If you do happen to have several of the same computer names on the same network, just join the to a workgroup, rename the pc, then add them back to the domain
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.