Ghost 2004 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2008, 10:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 181
Default Ghost 2004

I have this software but have yet to use it. The question I have is do I need to have a second HD slaved to my primary HD. Then do I put the floppy in, that Ghost is on, start my computer and then what?

Any help is appreciated.
__________________

Celticsfan is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 10:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Ghost 2004

If memory serves, the drive you want copied is set to master and the one you want to copy to is slave. Then you boot to the floppy and it's pretty point and click from there. You should have a weird gray screen with a menu to choose from. You probably want the disk to disk option. One note, the destination drive MUST be at least as big as the main drive. Also, I suggest you do a good defrag before you clone.
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 10:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 181
Default Re: Ghost 2004

Dave, Out of curiousity.... without setting up the hd as you say and without attaching a second HD, if I just put the floppy in my machine and boot up my PC, should I still see the weird gray screen that you speak of? I just want to see if my copy of ghost is still in working order?

thx
Celticsfan is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 10:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Ghost 2004

Booting off the floppy should still work. If i am not mistaken there is a way to check if your Ghost images still work. But i am sure you would have to do something obsecure to test it.

Best bet it to check the Symantec site for info on checking to see if a Ghost image is still valid.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 11:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 181
Default Re: Ghost 2004

Mak,I got it to a screen that said "it recognized 1 new drive. Make sure you are using ghost within the bounds of your license agreement. Ghost is only available in a single, 5 or 10 license agreement. Marking these drives as usable by ghost will ensure that they are optimized for your imaging task. Not marking these drives is only advisable when creating forensic quality images. Make these drives usable as ghost" Options are OK, Cancel or Continue without marking drives". I have only seen ghost used once and I don't remember seeing this option before. Is that because I only have one HD connected or some other reason? Please let me know.

Also, Should I assume my copy is still good to use?

thx
Celticsfan is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 11:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Ghost 2004

You will have to read the documentation. I have not used Ghost since version 9 and i created DVD's which were self booting.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 11:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 181
Default Re: Ghost 2004

Well if anyone else care to chime in on my above post please fell free to.
Celticsfan is offline  
Old 05-15-2008, 10:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Ghost 2004

Did you buy this or download it? Sounds like the activation has already been used. And yes if you boot to the floppy you should still get the gray screen. I have always just had both drives in and done it that way rather than creating an image.
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions before buying norton ghost darsunt Microsoft Windows and Software 24 03-19-2008 10:01 PM
anybody has a ghost boot floppy that they can copy me the contents to a zip file? EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 1 10-24-2007 08:51 PM
Alternitives to Norton's Ghost Harper Microsoft Windows and Software 14 06-18-2007 02:10 PM
Where to get Flash MX 2004 Trial infantryman Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 05-29-2007 04:38 PM
Nortons Ghost 10 Live Update problems wallace Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-26-2007 03:46 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.