Getting Rid of Uneeded Profiles in AD

Doberz

Solid State Member
I'm still very new to Active Directory, so I apologize if this question has an obvious answer but I was unable to find anything about it on google.

I'm new at my job and I don't have full access to the servers just yet. But my boss wants me to delete some uneeded profiles for my first task. The second profiles show up as .v2, which he says means they represent the user using a different version of Windows. He wants me to remove the XP profiles for the users that are now running Windows 7 and 8.

Is there an easy way to see what users are now using Win 7/8 so I know for sure which profiles to delete? Are the V2 profiles the ones that represent Win 7/8? So are the profiles with no .v2 extension the ones I should be looking into deleting?

My steps, considering I can't look at the server right now and only had a glimpse at it, are as follows. I feel these might be adding more work then needed. But I really want to be able to sit down in front of him and just get it done, lol

1. Look through the computers on the network and see which version Windows the PC is running.
2. Look at Users to see which computer each User is using.
3. Figure out how to use this information to delete the unneeded profiles.

The V2 profiles are the ones associated with Windows Vista and above
The ones without the V2 should be XP and below

But if you want to check what OS a user has, then this should already be documented at your organisation, if it is not then suggest that it needs to be done.
Any company should be documenting the following, as a minimum.

Each computer should have it's own asset number
Each asset should have an inventory of hardware and the operating system image used
Each asset should be assigned to a user (or department)

when you have this documented on a system you should then be see which systems are XP and which ones are 7/8, and also who that system is assigned to.