Getting rid of multiple XP installs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2003, 07:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 7
Question Getting rid of multiple XP installs

I recently reinstalled XP on my computer and had some problems. As a result it appears I have three different installations (evidenced by the screen on boot that allows me to choose one). Only one of them will boot up.

What I want to do is remove the other two. Also the working one does not recognize my settings and programs. Is there a way to switch them over.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Brian
__________________

twobit94 is offline  
Old 07-14-2003, 08:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

go to start, run then type: C:\boot.ini

it should look like this:

[boot loader]
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\Window s
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\Windows="Micro soft Windows XP (and here you put whether its Pro or Home)"
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-14-2003, 08:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

please take note of the: (and here you put whether its Pro or Home)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-14-2003, 10:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 7
Default

I am not sure exactly what I am supposed to do. Here is what my boot.ini says:

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=signature(66e566e5)disk(0)rdisk(0)partitio n(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
signature(66e566e5)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WIN DOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect
signature(66e566e5)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WIN DOWS1="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect


Am I supposed to delete one of the entries?

And if so will it affect the settings and programs?
twobit94 is offline  
Old 07-15-2003, 08:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 7
Default

One more question - When my computer boots up it gives me the option of which XP to run. Only the last one on the list works. The other two come up with an error that refers to ARC firmware that cannot generate HALs name. Is this still a good option??
twobit94 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.