Getting rid of all the startup programs?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2006, 11:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 83
Default Getting rid of all the startup programs??

I am running windows XP in a system I built and there are so many things running when I start up that the screen saver wont even start. How can I get rid of all the un needed programs from auto starting.

I deleted them out of the start up folder but still lots on there.
__________________

dennykyser is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 11:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

go to start, run type msconfig, go to startup click disable all except your antivurs and reboot
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 12:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

i dont agree with that , what about the firewall? and other programs that he might wanna have on startup , btw you can hide inactive/certain taskbar icons start-->settings-->taskbar and start menu-->
tick "hide inactive icons" and click "customize"
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 02:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

whats not to agree with? the only programs you need there are essential programs like AV and FW
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 02:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

well i didnt agree regarding antivirus only , as for essential thats what i basicly meant but essential also depends on the users point of view sure av/fw are essential but are they the only essential softwares? i guess that depends on personal preferences & the other softwares going on startup
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 02:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

For me, the absolute basic needs are my AV, FW, mouse driver, and broadband driver.

Anything else is just stuff.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 03:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you need mouse drivers and broadband drivers in your startup? Have you tried it without them? I said av because most people dont use a firewall
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 10:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

use tea timer of spybot to stop anything for ever entering the startup.

I run my a/v, firewall, email, ipod and media center features in my backgroung.

that's my preference
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 11:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 83
Default

Thanks eveyrone that helped a lot, I cant believe how much was in there.
dennykyser is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 02:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Quote:
you need mouse drivers and broadband drivers in your startup?
It's an IBM mouse, so if I want to use the side button and wheel, yeah.

Turns out CFD.exe ain't a driver, but is used for troubleshooting DSL problems.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.