Getting multipal network drives maped - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2004, 11:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Default Getting multipal network drives maped

I work in a small mixed Windows inviroment. We have WIN 98 thru to XP Pro all running Office 97 or Office 2000.
The secnario is that when a user opens a new document in Word or Excel 4 network drives get double mapped with Word and 3 network drives with Excel. The workgroup templates is pointing to a mapping on there network. This is not the case for all users thou. It is only a hand full and its all the time for some and random for others.
Any sugestions?
__________________

DAWhitney is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 04:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 77
Default

It's kinda hard to tell from your decription exactly what is wrong and it is really best if you see the problem yourself, but I may have a solution. This may not work for your situation because of other possible factors. You need to be extremely careful when doing this, but back up all the information from all users that you have. The proceed to unmap all the network drives. The remap the drives. After this is done make sure that all users are saving to the appropriate mapped drives. Once again be very careful and see if you cannot solve the problems other ways. If you have a Network Administrator alert him of the situation and he should be able to clear you all up.
__________________

__________________
-Pentium IV 2.6C w/Hyper Threading Technology
-1GB DDR PC3200 RAM
-Radeon 9800 XT
-120GB 10,000 RPM SATA HD
-52x 48x 52x Sony CD Rom Drive
-16x DVD R/RW Drive
-Windows XP Professional
-Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum Pro
-Intel i875 800MHZ FSB motherboard
-1.44 MB Floppy Drive
-Thermaltake Pro case
Jonesie is offline  
Old 07-10-2004, 03:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

are these drives mapped though a login script or are they hand mapped? Also, when you say double mapped, are you refering to the paths are assigned to more then 1 drive letter or somthing else?
Inaris is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 11:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

sounds like windows is not cleaning up the list. Try this:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Explorer\MountPoints

and add this value

_NoWindowMappedDrive
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 01:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Some more info
Last friday i tried a couple more things

the computer i tried all my testing on is a Win NT 4 workstation
running office 97 sr2b

the drives are maped with a login script
the script first unmaps all drives then remaps the drives.

Lets say that i have 4 mapped drives and they are assinged to letters N, P, S, T and the S drive is the drive that the templates that the whole office uses reside on.
When I open Word on this computer (the one i did my testing on)and then click FILE and select NEW then right click on the START button and select EXPLORE the mapping of the S drive will appear in D, E, F, and some times G.
That is the problem in a nut shell.

test 1) if i remove the workgroup templates that is curently mapped to a share point on the network will the network drive remap itself 3 times result no restored to origanal configuration
test 2) if i configure all drive to be in Alphabetical order will the drives map result yes restored to old map scema
test 3) out of desperation I removed the FindFast feature
I had read an Microsoft Kbase article that lead me to belive it could be the calprate

I will try Killians sugestion and post the results

Oh i am the Admin in training for the site
DAWhitney is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 04:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Hmm, then I dont think that registry string is going to help either, then. I'll try and think of something else.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.