Getting into safe mode - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2006, 10:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to Jesse_XIV Send a message via Yahoo to Jesse_XIV
Default Getting into safe mode

I'm using a Windows XP and I need to get into safe mode but i'm not sure how to do that. Any help would be appriciated.
__________________

Jesse_XIV is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 11:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Right before the spalsh screen, (the one before it loads) im 70% sure you just repeaditly tap F8.


It might be another F so Il let another member clarify my statement.
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 11:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

for intel its F8 for BIOS or F12 for boot options

for amd is usually delete and then exit the BIOS in safe mode. Depends on your motherboard I believe.
__________________
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 11:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Erich K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico
Posts: 241
Default

On all the computers i've ever had, it's always F8.
Erich K is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 11:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to Jesse_XIV Send a message via Yahoo to Jesse_XIV
Default

I've tried pressing most of the "F's" and I couldn't find the option on the settings screen. I haven't tried pressing F8 repeatedly so I will, I hope this works. Thanks.
Jesse_XIV is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 11:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

i'm not sure either but i believe its F8. just keep pressing it and hope you don't mess anything up
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 10:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

Start > run > msconfig > boot.ini > safeboot > apply > close.
Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 02:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jam3s-Zer0
Start > run > msconfig > boot.ini > safeboot > apply > close.
why make it that advanced all you need to do is press F8 at the splash screen lol no need to confuse people haha.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 03:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jcortes
why make it that advanced all you need to do is press F8 at the splash screen lol no need to confuse people haha.
I actually find my instructions easy to follow step by step
Also some PC's dont use the 'f8 method' so my way is a certain way to do it.

Quote:
I've tried pressing most of the "F's" and I couldn't find the option on the settings screen.
My way is alot simpler.
Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 03:51 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

i wouldnt see how your method is simpler than pressing f8 but i didnt read the post that he couldn't get that to work so i guess that will work
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.