Geforce 6600 and Aero... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2007, 03:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Default Geforce 6600 and Aero...

I've run into a problem where the newest Nvidia drivers for my geforce 6600. When installed aero works just fine however their are horrid articfacts everywhere when I attempt to play games. I found drivers that fixed that, however Aero then doesn't work...

Has anyone had a similar problem? Anyone have a solution?

Thanks in advance,

~genericXs
__________________

genericxs is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 08:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Geforce 6600 and Aero...

The only fix is to wait for nVidia to release drivers that are not buggier than a ant farm.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 02:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: Geforce 6600 and Aero...

what if you used microsofts drivers until nvidia makes better drivers. ms drivers worked fine for my fx5500
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 02:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Geforce 6600 and Aero...

I think I have tried that too, I still got artifacts.
genericxs is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 04:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Geforce 6600 and Aero...

Turn off Aero when you play games.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 05:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Geforce 6600 and Aero...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Turn off Aero when you play games.
I wish that would work, but it's a driver specific problem... At the moment it is either one driver (that has no artifacts in games) or the other (the one that enables areo). I have tried about 4 different drivers for the 6 series...
genericxs is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 06:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Geforce 6600 and Aero...

Thats funny. I have a GeForce 6800 and i use the nVidia drivers. Yet i dont have any artifacting at all. I can use Aero just fine. So sorry to say, if you are using the current drivers. It isnt a driver issue. Cause i use them as well. So it is something hardware specific. Like your card going. Or maybe something else.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 08:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Geforce 6600 and Aero...

might wanna check ur Vid Card Temps and get an aftermarket cooler if necessary
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 06:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Geforce 6600 and Aero...

What if I was to say it's a mix of the 6 series drivers and the hardware, because using older 6 drivers I don't have any artifacts... maybe the 6600 just can't handle the new ones?

I also never had any problems in XP when the new drivers where installed, only till I upgrade did I get artifacts.. Could this be a result of dx10 :S
genericxs is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 08:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Geforce 6600 and Aero...

As i said. I am running a 6800. Using the newest driver. Playing all sorts of games with no artifacts. Game like CS:S, F.E.A.R. ,Doom3 and others. None of them artifact. Nothing artifact with the newer drivers. So it isnt DX10. It isnt the drivers.

Check the status of your card. It could be on its way out. If you are having this much trouble with it and people are using the same drivers as you without the issues that is all that could be left.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.