GDisk

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gscope

Baseband Member
Hey, this is my first time posting on these forums and hopefully will more often :]

I heard of a utility called Gdisk. A more advanced version of Fdisk that you can get from Norton Ghost. I have Norton Ghost 9.0.
I want to use Gdisk to wipe my hard-drive. I was told that it overwrites all of the files and eliminates Disk slack or where ever there is a deleted file and overwrites it. Im doing this as a project for Computer Forensics and testing if I am able to go back and see files I deleted after using Gdisk. Since when you delete a file It doesnt get deleted off the hard drive but rather deletes the path way to it so the OS cannot see it. It doesn't go away until it is overwritten. To my understanding GDisk Writes a bunch of 0's across the whole Hard drive to overwrite everything after formating it.

First off Im not sure where the Gdisk.exe is in Norton Ghost. Another thing is I geuss Im suppose to make a boot up disk with Gdisk.exe and im not sure of how to do that as well.

If someone could help me with this is would great Thank you :]

Im running XP pro 120 GB hard drive NTFS 3.2 intel pentium 4 processor, 1G of memory.

Introduction to GDisk

Situation:

You want to know what Ghost's GDisk utility can do and when it can be used in place of the Windows FDisk utility.

Solution:
GDisk is a DOS command-line utility, GDisk.exe, that includes all the features of FDisk and additional features. Everything you can do with FDisk you can do with GDisk. Partitions that are created with GDisk are indistinguishable from those that are created with FDisk.

Because GDisk runs only in DOS, you cannot access GDisk from within Windows. Instead, copy GDisk.exe to a floppy disk, start the computer from a bootable floppy disk, and run GDisk from the floppy disk. GDisk is located on the Ghost installation CD and in the Ghost installation folder on your hard disk.