GDI.exe - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2004, 06:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 63
Angry GDI.exe

A friend of mine has a dell system that is running windows me. when you try to start it up .. starts to load windows and then gives this error message.

"explorer has caused an error in gdi.exe. explorer will close now. If you continue to experience this problem try restarting your computer. "

The error messages occurs every single time that you try to start up the computer and it will not let you finish starting up windows me.

The only way to get the computer to start up is in safe mode.

Any suggestions or advise would be greatly appreicated as I am trying to help out a friend and she would prefer that I try to avoid reinstalling windows.

lheggie is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 08:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 63

When i disable NDIS.VXD i am able to boot windows normally but the problem occurs as soon as i reinable NDIS.VXD . I am in the process of scanning for spyware. I scanned with spy sweeper and am now scanning with spy hunter.

lheggie is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 10:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 63

If i re enable the ndis.vxd the problem comes back. I scanned for viruses and for spyware. I have removed all of the spyware and have not found any a single virus on the system. I scanned the system with Norton and with AVG. Any other suggestions or assistance would be greatly appreciated.
lheggie is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 10:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 63

The system is a dell demensions 4100. Running windows me. It has 128 mb ram and a 30 GB hard drive.
lheggie is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 12:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500

The Graphical Device Interface handles all the functions needed to produce images on your screen, including keyboard and mouse functions, as well as print services. It can be affected by your video card driver so make sure that you visit the manufacturer's web site and make sure you have the latest drivers for your card.

About debugging the NDIS

I would try installing the latest drivers for your Video card.

To do this start in Safe Mode, go to the control panel, Display Adapters, and remove your present card.

On reboot the Hardware wizard should discover it, and provide an opportunity to install the drivers,

Another method may be to install a fresh copy of NDIS.vxd available at the

Another question would be ,, if this error suddenly started ,, what did you do to the PC?? what changes were made?

Have you tried system restore?? to a point where there was no issue??

Crash Abbott

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.