Games keep minimizing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2005, 12:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 153
Send a message via ICQ to belveder Send a message via Yahoo to belveder
Default Games keep minimizing

I just had an interesting problem start this morning, no matter what game is played on the computer at regular intervals they minimize to the taskbar for no apparent reason. It's really weird. I don't think any other software is doing it, only games.

I haven't done anything to the computer today so there's been no changes except for remove a trojan that AdAware classed as critical.

Any help would be appreciated.

belveder is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 01:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
Seria's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553

I have this problem on my laptop. I believe(not positive) its caused because the graphics card can't handle the screen mode changes.

most games are in different screen modes than windows.

I sometimes can get passed it but its like after 10-15 alt+tab’s

Seria is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 02:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii

Check to see if there's any processes that are affiliated with a certain program that brings the desktop to the top when needed (AIM)

This has happened to me on random occasions, never really found a solution, but it's probably some program process bringing the desktop to the top.
Demalii is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 11:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50

first programs can cause that becuase they are trying 2 update but they cant because ur playing a game and the ydont like it so they minmize it so they can start updating w/e they need i had same problem but mine just totaly crashed and i found out it was my XFIRE program i dont kno if u use that or not but if u turn of all ur programs on the boottom the icons turn em al of and if the problem hapens then its reformate time then that wll fix that mofo fo sho
bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 03:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 39

I had this problem too on my Laptop. Didn't happen on my Desktop system though.

Surprisingly, after I installed SP2, the problem hasn't shown up again.
flexx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.