Games don't work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2005, 03:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to pcspecialist
Default Games don't work

I just reinstalled Windows XP Professional along with Service Pack 2. I installed Street Legal Racing: Redline, RollerCoaster Tycoon 3, and 3D Ultra Cool Pool. Whenever I exit out of ANY game, I get a black screen and I can't get to my desktop? Does anyone know how to fix this problem?
__________________

__________________
Athlon XP 3200+
Corsair DDR 400 512 MB Ram
Seagate 160 GB 8MB HD
9 in 1 card reader
Lite On DVD∓RW/ drive
Sony 52x CD-Rom
Evga 128 MB 6600GT 8x AGP
pcspecialist is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 03:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

Check to make sure you have the latest drivers for your graphics card.

It sounds like you're changing display sizes when entering/exiting these games. It could be hanging when trying to switch back to your default resolution.
__________________

__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 04:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

SP2 man, can almost guarantee it. Roll back to SP1, that should work.

I have only known SP2 to work on fresh installs.
Him is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 06:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default Re: Games don't work

Quote:
Originally posted by pcspecialist
I just reinstalled Windows XP Professional along with Service Pack 2.
hints that he re installed with the service pack2... anyhow update ur vid card, then in the games options u should find a screen size. maybe you should toy with that..
also try this exit ur games with cntrl alt del and see if they exit right, if not it might be the games themselves having problems exiting. (are tehy all the same company?)
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 11:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to pcspecialist
Default

Thanks, i fixed it. I saved everything I needed to a DVD-RW and reinstall XP. I installed in everything I needed and now it works well. Thanks for your help. BTW, I installed SP2 too, =D.
__________________
Athlon XP 3200+
Corsair DDR 400 512 MB Ram
Seagate 160 GB 8MB HD
9 in 1 card reader
Lite On DVD∓RW/ drive
Sony 52x CD-Rom
Evga 128 MB 6600GT 8x AGP
pcspecialist is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 11:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

__________________

SkyHi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.