Game retarts computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2006, 10:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default Game retarts computer

What would cause Flatout 2 to retart the pc as soon as I click the icon with no warning at all.

Specs are x800gto 16 pipes 440/1080
p4 3.08ghz
1gb ram
55gb wd
120gb maxtor
sony dvd/cd reader
430w thermaltake psu

All other games work fine, just this one giving issues.
__________________

Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 11:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

sounds like a video card problem try updating the drivers. does it crash after the graphics card changes the resolution?

Edit: the reason this game could fail and not others is because one could be using opengl instead of directx but im not posotive on that one just update the drivers see if that helps and if not let me know
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 11:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

I mean I double click Icon and right after I let go of second click it restarts. Only game but I guess video drivers would be worth a try if everyone agrees with it.

Ok im trying now.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 11:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

hmmmm very strange update the drivers but if that doesnt help this right after double click restart is starange check that the shortcut does infact link to the game and does not have any arguments or switches that arent needed.

EDIT: be back in an hour ill check on you.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 11:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Ok I checked icon and it goes to right place. Does same **** on icon in dir. **** I uninstalled video drivers and restarted and now my computer keeps restarting when it gets to windows log-in window. **** IT!
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 12:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Finally got it going and new drivers didnt help. Any more ideas? What about the dx9 opengl thing?
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 12:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

ok if it started restarting after u just did the driver update roll back ur drivers go to device manager > display adapters > right click properties > driver tab > roll back drivers. if that doesnt work then do a system restore once you stop the computer from restarting we can worry about your game.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 12:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Ok Windows is good now just need game help
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 12:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

have you tried re installing the game?
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.