GAAAH!! lost cd key - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2006, 07:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default GAAAH!! lost cd key

k my xp install recently died on me, so i went to reinstall, but i couldnt find the key. i already formatted the hdd, so is there any way to get the install key from the cd? i have tried using the key from my dads disk to continue installing, but it says invalid product key. i havent even gotten do desktop yet. ittl ask for the cd key, but i dont have it. any sugestions?
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 07:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

No there's no way to get it from the cd all cd's a certain age are the same.
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 07:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Try using your dad's CD.
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 07:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

we dont have his disk just the key, and i lost my key. his key wont work on my disk. just says invalid product key
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 08:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 457
Send a message via MSN to SpikedCola
Default

You can modify your copy of XP to accept different types of keys (retail, OEM, vlk, etc) I dont know if its legal or not, but I know it exists, so do a bit of searching, and get yourself a CD+RW and get to work! :P
__________________

Asus P5E | Q6600 | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 | BFG 8800GTS | 5x1.5TB SATA2 | 2x500GB SATA2 in RAID1
SpikedCola is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 08:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

i got loads of r's and rw's, but what would i have to look for?
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 09:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 457
Send a message via MSN to SpikedCola
Default

Humm. Probably illegal, but here goes (if someone deems this illegal or that it shouldnt be posted, let me or a mod know and it will be removed)


Experiment and see.
__________________

Asus P5E | Q6600 | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 | BFG 8800GTS | 5x1.5TB SATA2 | 2x500GB SATA2 in RAID1
SpikedCola is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 02:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Yea it is illegal, sorry guys, but you know the rules. If you want to help a follow techy out, just don't do it here on TF if it's illegal. We want to protect the integrity of this forum.

Always backup your CD key and a copy of your disc, then you wouldnÂ’t have this problem.
Law is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 03:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

May I reccomend you try a beta Vista RC2 install instead? At least you have a OS that is capable of gaming and shouldn't be too far off XP pace. You will need to buy it in June though so get saving.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 06:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

well, its all good now, on xp now(found the key )
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.