FTP server software... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2003, 06:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 351
Send a message via Yahoo to A_Zip1
Default FTP server software...

yeh i just recently got interested in starting an FTP server... the reason is i just wanted to share files with my friends and what not... yeh but im using the program "Serv-U' one of my friend recommended it because it is very easy 2 learn... but yeh my only prob is getting people to connect without having 2 disable my firewall..... im running windows 2k3 server... and i configured the built in firewall on thier to allow FTP connections but my other firewall im running is Norten Firewall 2002 and im trying to figure out how to configure it... im going through the configuration and like i set it to allow FTP on port 21 [wich is the port Serve-U is using] so now i have options of allowing TCP , UDP , TCP and UDP , or ICMP... and im just wondering wich of these is necesarry for my FTP server to operate correctly.
__________________

A_Zip1 is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 06:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

maybe you can set up a password, and set your firewall to let them in if they have a password.
or you could get free web hosting somewhere and start up an FTP server there
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 06:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Just a suggestion.....I use BulletFTP and this is fairly easy as well with a little more functionality.
There is no harm in allowing TCP and UDP. Also a lot of FTP clients use port 20 in conjunction with port 21. So just in case, it wouldn't hurt to allow both.
Port 20: Connection Oriented
Port 21: Transfer Oriented
You will not be using the ICMP for FTP connections and transfers.

-Michael
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 06:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 351
Send a message via Yahoo to A_Zip1
Default

yeh thanks 'mikesgroovin' but hey ive never heard of free webhosting for an ftp server.. i wouldnt mind some information on that... but yeh ill make it so it allows TCP and UDP on port 21 and see what happens..
A_Zip1 is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 06:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

What do you mean free webhosting?
Oh....didn't see the above post... lol

-Michael
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 06:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Another thought......with Win2k3 having an internal software wirewall you really shouldn't need a second. The other firewall with only get confusing...and it's not really doing anything.

-Michael
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 07:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 351
Send a message via Yahoo to A_Zip1
Default

yeh well personally i dont trust MS to make a operating system... so i REALLY dont trust them to make any firewall software .. lol
A_Zip1 is offline  
Old 11-15-2003, 02:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,364
Send a message via AIM to shan
Default

so then go get Linux!!! http://fedora.redhat.com, dude, it comes with vsftpd it's a simple ftp app, you can create a guest account on your computer, they can d/l all the files they want. Then go get your self apache ( http://www.apache.org ) then go get php ( http://php.net ) then go get MySQL ( http://www.mysql.com ) and then you've got a complete file/web/database server, which is secure as hell. Oh yea, and the built in FREE firewall is probably more secure then most of the commercial firewall software out there good luck man.
__________________
<center><h2><font color=\"red\">C:\\ Is the root of all evil</font></h2>
<hr width=\"50%\">
phiber@sysdum.com
spam this account, it's fun.
shan is offline  
Old 11-15-2003, 02:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 351
Send a message via Yahoo to A_Zip1
Default

haha yeh shan.. i COULD do that... but no.. lol.. considering ive just recently bought Windows 2003... so yeh but actually after searching the web for countless hours... ive found out Win2k3 actually does have a FTP server its just not initially installed u have to go back to the CD 2 get it.. but yeh... im happy now... after configuring my firewalls and what not... everything is going good.. but im getting download speeds of about 200kbs i was just wondering if it can get going any faster considering i have a cable modem thats running 300kbs.?
A_Zip1 is offline  
Old 11-15-2003, 02:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,364
Send a message via AIM to shan
Default

you are getting download speeds of that, or your friends are getting download speeds of that off your computer?

If it's your friends d/l'n off your computer then probably not, cable is really limited on upload speeds (your friends d/l speed of your computer)
__________________

__________________
<center><h2><font color=\"red\">C:\\ Is the root of all evil</font></h2>
<hr width=\"50%\">
phiber@sysdum.com
spam this account, it's fun.
shan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.