FTP the right way - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2007, 10:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default FTP the right way

My friend is fairly new to the techie scene but he wants to set up and ftp server. I have already gotten him up and running with a free VNC client so he doesn't need to be at the server to administer it. But he is lost on FTP. I have never done it before so I'm not much help. Can anyone lead em to a good free ftp program for him? And a tutorial how to set it up and use it that he can understand? BTW this machine runs windows 2000 professional. Thanks for all the help!
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 10:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: FTP the right way

doesnt firefox have a ftp plugin?

try this
i haven't done real ftp but ive done some ftp for a website id made a while back
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 10:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: FTP the right way

I use War FTP Daemon, it's easy to configure, has a complete GUI interface, and is dead simple to operate. I run it on an old P133 64MB RAM Windows 98 SE and it works awesome. You can set up a user database so that each user gets their own permissions, like which folders and drives they can access, and whether they can upload or not. It supports accessing drives, I have my floppy drive online and 2 partitions. I'm sure it'd run on Win2k...in fact I think I installed it on my Win2k laptop...
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 11:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: FTP the right way

War FTP Daemon

I use it on my P133 64MB RAM Win98SE FTP server, it has a dead simple GUI with user database, can access any drive, each user has their own set of permissions, and it works well. Google "War FTP Daemon" to find it, I forgot the link. It should run on the comp in question, if it runs on a P133 (and actually a P75 16MB Win95 that I had before I got the 133).
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 12:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: FTP the right way

FileZilla is a good one. Free as well.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 08:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: FTP the right way

i thought filezilla was only an ftp client. I need an ftp server app.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 08:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: FTP the right way

Bulletproof FTP is good.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 05:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: FTP the right way

I use WAR FTP Daemon, it's awesome! It runs great even on ancient hardware, like the Pentium 133 64MB with Win98SE that I'm running it on, and has a dead simple GUI interface with a "User Database" that allows you to config each user to have their own set of available folders/drives and read/write permissions.

Actually, I ran it for a few months on a Pentium 75 w/ 16MB RAM and Win95
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 06:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: FTP the right way

OK so he has the server up but it can't be accessed outside of his own network. he thinks its something with port forwarding. the IP is 74.131.198.137
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 06:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: FTP the right way

Yes, hes should forward port 21 to his computers IP in the router settings.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.