the frustration!!!! installing vista to a sata..... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2008, 06:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Default the frustration!!!! installing vista to a sata.....

im trying to install vista to a sata hd. it runs through the install until it gets to the hard drive list where my hard drive doesnt even show up in the window. i click next and vista says hard drive cannot be found and thats it. i checked my bios settings and sata controllers are enable and raid is enabled. wtf do i do now? i have an asus m2n-sLI deluxe MB. did i hook up something wrong? i connected the sata hard drive to the sata 1 port but i also have a seperate sata-raid1 port on the otehr side of the MB.
__________________

busa4 is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 07:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: the frustration!!!! installing vista to a sata.....

You need to install the drivers when it asks you to.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 07:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: the frustration!!!! installing vista to a sata.....

i clicked the load drivers icon and a list of confusing s%$t popped up. i loaded my asus "vista driver upgrade kit" cd rom in rom drive and searched through the list until i found the "drivers" icon then i clicked raid, then vista, then vista 32 then sata again and 3 choices came up on the sceen. i selected next and same error. cant find hd.
busa4 is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 09:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: the frustration!!!! installing vista to a sata.....

Vista has almost all the SATA Drivers needed. Have you tried to turn off the RAID settings. No need for them to be on if you a.) only have 1 SATA Drive since RAID uses 2 drives and b.) do not plan on using RAID.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 10:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: the frustration!!!! installing vista to a sata.....

i tried raid enabled and turned off. it goes to the hd screen but it still doesnt see either of my sata hd's. ive tried them both. the only drive it sees is my old ide.
busa4 is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 10:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: the frustration!!!! installing vista to a sata.....

Well you need to find the make and model of the mobo. From there go to the manufacturer site and get the SATA drivers. I am guessing it is a Intel based chipset?

To me it seems that the drivers are just not located on the CD you got.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 02:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: the frustration!!!! installing vista to a sata.....

Very noobish question, but just want to make sure it's nothing TOO stupid. You did hook up the sata power cables as well, correct? Not just the sata data cables.

Does the bios show you have the hard drives connected? Because if they aren't showing up in the bios, something is definitely wrong.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 04-26-2008, 12:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: the frustration!!!! installing vista to a sata.....

yes, sata power cables and data cables are hooked up. i can see both sata hard drives in bios under raid1 and raid 2 but vista doesnt see them when doing an install.
busa4 is offline  
Old 04-26-2008, 01:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: the frustration!!!! installing vista to a sata.....

Then you need to get the RAID Drivers for the Vista disc. IT only has SATA Generic drives. It has few to none RAID Array drivers.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-26-2008, 02:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: the frustration!!!! installing vista to a sata.....

I installed Vista fine on my Western Digital SATA drive but I do know my friend had problems gettiong his copy of vista onto his SATA drive but his was a seagate, the only advice I personally can give you is to spend time looking at the instructions becuase they are your life line in your problem..
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista SP1 Download Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 42 03-22-2008 04:23 AM
nvlddmkm.sys prevents vista x64 from installing Broom Microsoft Windows and Software 1 03-20-2008 08:51 PM
Installing SATA drivers on laptop Segamaster222 Laptops and Notebooks 1 09-23-2007 11:35 AM
Installing Flash Player on Vista? shortstop20 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 03-26-2007 05:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.